skip to Main Content
Château Mader : les loisirs

Stay in Gujan-Mestras: where nature and heritage are preserved

Château Mader:  discover the region of Arcachon off the beaten path

Discover small oyster harbors

The Arcachon Bay, an inland sea of 155 km2 (60 sq miles), has the ideal conditions for cultivating oysters.  With its 7 ports, Gujan-Mestras, is the capital of oyster cultivation and the perfect spot to take a boat ride on a “plate” (the traditional boat of the oyster farmers).  A seasoned oyster farmer will share the secrets of his profession and answer your questions about oyster farming.  You can enjoy fresh oysters aboard the boat, unless you would prefer to share a platter in one of the charming oyster shacks that line the Port of Larros, only 500m (500 yards) from the château. Whelks, shrimp, and paté are also served, accompanied by a lovely, cool glass of wine…white or rosé.

Walk or cycle along the coastal path

The coastal path, that passes right in front of Château Mader, follows the coast of Gujan-Mestras boasting 7 ports, from the port of “La Môle” to the port of “La Hume,” with its monitored beach (1 km/.6 mile, from Château Mader).  A walk along this path will allow you to discover the unique flora and fauna of the bay.  Only a few kilometers from the château, you can observe a myriad of bird species that populate the waters, like those of the bird park of Teich.  According to your desires, you can stop to picnic on the wild beaches, take a dip or sunbathe…

A paradise for cyclists

220 kilometers (135 miles) of bike paths allow you to safely cycle from Gujan-Mestras. You can reach Cap-Ferret by riding across majestic pinewoods, then embark with your bike on one of the small boats that shuttle between Cap-Ferret and the port of La Hume, a short ride from Château Mader. With a little luck, a doe will cross the trail just in front of you….

Climb the Dune of Pilat

From the terrace of Château Mader, you can see the top of the Dune of Pilat: 110 m (360 ft) high  and 3 km (2 miles) long, it is the highest dune in Europe!
Located 15 km (less than 10 miles) from Château Mader, the dune extends all the way to the entrance of the Bay of Arcachon and offers an absolutely breathtaking view; on one side, the vastness of the Landes forest (the largest artificial forest of Western Europe, with one million hectares (2,5 million acres), on the other side, the Atlantic ocean, the Banc d’Arguin (the sandbank which marks the border between the calm waters of the bay and the ocean) and the Cap Ferret peninsula.

Cruise the Bay

Aboard a wooden pinasse, the traditional boat of the bay, you will reach l’Ile aux Oiseaux (Bird Island), a fantastic nature reserve, and discover the iconic “cabanes tchanquées”, two wooden cabins on stilts. Picnic at the Banc d’Arguin, after a dip in the crystalline waters surrounding this large sandbank . Thanks to the many ferries, cross the bay in 30 minutes and stop at Cap-Ferret for a stroll in the flowered alleys of its picturesque oyster-farming villages, or to enjoy its invigorating oceanic beaches.

 

Golf beneath the pines

In Gujan-Mestras, two kilometers (1 mile) from Château Mader, and Arcachon, ten kilometers (6 miles) away, you will enjoy two 18-hole golf courses combining technical difficulty and aesthetic layout. Less than two hours away, you will find several golf courses with international repute: Near Bordeaux, the Golf du Medoc, one of the top 10 european golf courses and, in the Landes and Basque country : Hossegor, Seignosse or the legendary Golf de Chiberta ..

Enjoy summer music festivals

A true local institution, Thursdays at the Port of Larros’ free summer concert series last through the entire summer season.  There is something for everyone: jazz, salsa, rock or local “bandas.” Residents of Gujan and vacationers rub shoulders in a friendly atmosphere, enjoying a crêpe or drinking a glass of champagne. From the terrace of the Château, you will be in the front row to admire the fireworks of July 14, launched from the pier of the port of Larros, or the many fireworks on August 15.

Admire Arcachon, and the “Ville d’Hiver”

Starting in 1857 thanks to the arrival of the railway, Arcachon was one of the fashionable seaside resorts to which the European aristocracy was drawn, just at the time when Clara and Camille were building Château Mader. The train still takes you in less than 10 minutes from Gujan to the center of Arcachon. A stroll through the winding, shady streets of the “Ville d’Hiver,” home to beautiful 19th-century villas, plunges you into another era. Like the bourgeoisie of the Belle Epoque, you can stroll the lively streets of the resort, have lunch or dinner along the seafront, opposite a magnificent beach that invites sunbathing and swimming.

Take a stroll around Bordeaux, an hour away…

 

Just 60 km (37 miles) from Château Mader, Bordeaux, wine capital of the world, is a must-see destination: discover its magnificent 18th century architecture – strolling in the Golden Triangle, Place de la Bourse and along the quays of the Port of the Moon, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Admire St Andrew cathedral and enjoy a panoramic view over Bordeaux from Pey Berland tower. Shop in Rue Sainte Catherine, the longest pedestrian shopping street of Europe. Visit the Cité du Vin, appreciate contemporary art at the CAPC in the posh Chartrons district, walk through the lively Capucins market, shop at the antique dealers in the Espace Saint-Michel …With it’s history, shopping, culture, it ‘s no wonder that Bordeaux has been ranked “European Best Destination 2015”

Explore the world-renowned vineyards and Saint-Emilion

Visit the vineyards that surround Bordeaux with their prestigious vintage wines, such as Haut Brion (Pessac), Yquem (Sauternes), Margaux, all within 80 kilometers (50 miles); discover the grape-growing slopes of Saint-Emilion, a UNESCO World Heritage site, and fall in love with this small medieval town, where you can take a lovely walk along the steep cobblestone streets or visit the impressive underground cathedral. Take a break for a glass of wine on one of the many café terraces.
On request, we will organise for you a “custom-made” tour via chauffeured limousine.

Basque country and Spain, two hours away…

The lively streets of Saint-Jean de Luz and the beautiful, sandy beaches of Biarritz are only a two-hour drive away. For a change of scenery you can discover the white houses with their bright red or green shutters that are characteristic of the Basque country. Cross the border into Spain and take the road that goes along the cliffs overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, stop to caress the pottoks (small wild horses) and admire the beautiful landscapes. Discover elegant San Sebastian, its renowned beach (La Concha). At the end of the day in Spain’s culinary capital, you can savor tapas in the maze of the old town or enjoy dinner in one of the many Michelin-starred restaurants  before returning to Château Mader.

Local gastronomy

Oysters from the bay, wild-caught fish and seafood from the fish market of Arcachon, beef from Bazas, asparagus, duck and foie gras from neighboring “Les Landes,” and of course, Bordeaux wines: the region has an abundance of the highest quality products!

Discover the extraordinary surroundings of Château Mader

2d65368de0ba1e2185d9d589490d849aXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX Back To Top

skip to Main Content
Château Mader : les loisirs

Séjournez à Gujan-Mestras : nature et patrimoine préservés

Château Mader: parfait pour découvrir la région hors des sentiers battus!

Découvrez les petits ports ostréicoles

Véritable mer intérieure de 155 km2, le Bassin d’Arcachon réunit les conditions idéales à la culture des huîtres. Avec ses 7 ports, Gujan-Mestras, capitale de l’ostréiculture, est l’endroit idéal pour embarquer sur une « plate » (le bateau des ostréiculteurs) avec un ostréiculteur du cru, qui vous fera découvrir son métier et répondra à vos questions sur la culture des huîtres. Vous pourrez déguster les huîtres à bord du bateau, à moins que vous ne préfériez partager un plateau dans l’une des cabanes qui jalonnent le Port de Larros, à 500m du château. Bulots, crevettes et pâté vous seront également proposés, accompagnés d’un verre de vin blanc ou rosé…

Le sentier littoral, à pied ou vélo

Le sentier littoral, qui longe le Château Mader, suit la façade maritime de Gujan-Mestras en reliant les 7 ports, de la Môle à l’Est, à celui de la Hume à l’Ouest, avec sa plage surveillée (1 km du Château Mader). La promenade sur le sentier vous permettra de découvrir la flore et la faune du bassin et, à quelques kilomètres du château, d’observer les myriades d’oiseaux peuplant les eaux miroitantes du parc ornithologique du Teich. Au gré de vos envies, arrêtez-vous sur les plages sauvages et désertes pour un pique-nique, une baignade ou un bain de soleil…

Le paradis des cyclistes

220 kilomètres de pistes cyclables sont aménagés autour du Bassin et permettent de se déplacer en toute sécurité au départ de Gujan-Mestras. Vous pourrez rejoindre le Cap-Ferret en roulant dans les pinèdes, puis embarquer avec votre vélo sur l’un des petits bateaux assurant la navette entre le Cap-Ferret et le au Port de la Hume, tout proche du Château Mader. Avec un peu de chance, une biche traversera la piste non loin de vous….

Découvrez la Dune du Pilat

Depuis la terrasse du Château Mader, on aperçoit le sommet de la dune du Pilat : haute de 110m et longue de 3 km, c’est la plus haute dune d’Europe !
Située à 15 km du Château Mader, elle s’étend à l’entrée du Bassin d’Arcachon et, après l’avoir escaladée, elle offre une vue à couper le souffle, d’un côté sur l’immensité de la forêt landaise (la plus grande forêt artificielle d’Europe occidentale, avec d’un million d’hectares), de l’autre sur l’Océan, le banc d’Arguin (le banc de sable qui marque la frontière entre les eaux calmes du Bassin et l’océan) et la presqu’île du Cap Ferret.

En bateau sur le Bassin

A bord d’une pinasse en bois, le bateau traditionnel du Bassin, vous naviguerez jusqu’à l’île aux Oiseaux, une fantastique réserve naturelle et découvrirez les emblématiques cabanes tchanquées, deux cabanes en bois sur pilotis. Pique-niquez au Banc d’Arguin apres une baignade dans ses eaux cristallines. Grâce aux nombreuses navettes, en 30 minutes, rejoignez le Cap-Ferret, pour une balade dans les ruelles fleuries de ses pittoresques villages ostréicoles, ou pour profiter de ses vivifiantes plages océanes.

Golfez sous les pins

A Gujan-Mestras (à deux km du Château Mader), et à Arcachon (à dix km), vous disposerez de deux golfs de 18 trous alliant difficulté technique et tracé esthétique. A moins de deux heures de voiture du château vous trouverez également plusieurs parcours de réputation internationale: Aux portes de Bordeaux, le Golf du Medoc, membre du Top 10 européen, et, dans les Landes et le Pays Basque, Hossegor, Seignosse ou le légendaire Golf de Chiberta…

Participez aux fêtes estivales

Véritable institution locale, les Jeudis du Port de Larros accueillent pendant toute la saison d’été des concerts et spectacles gratuits – jazz, salsa, rock ou « bandas » locales, il y en a pour tous les goûts. Habitants de Gujan et vacanciers s’y côtoient dans une ambiance bon enfant, en dégustant une crêpe ou en buvant une coupe de champagne, vendus à prix doux par des bénévoles souriants. Depuis la terrasse du château, vous serez aux premières loges pour admirer le feu d’artifice du 14 juillet, tiré depuis la jetée du port de Larros, ou les nombreux feux d’artifice du 15 août.

Admirez la Ville d’Hiver d’Arcachon

Lancée en 1857 grâce à l’arrivée du chemin de fer, Arcachon était l’une des stations balnéaires en vogue où se pressait l’aristocratie européenne, à l’époque où Clara et Camille construisaient le Château Mader. Le train vous mène toujours en moins de 10 minutes de Gujan au centre d’Arcachon. Une promenade dans les rues sinueuses et ombragées de la Ville d’hiver, abritant de superbes villas datant du 19e siècle, vous plonge avec ravissement dans le passé. Comme les élégantes de la Belle Epoque vous aimerez déambuler dans les rues animées de la station, déjeuner ou dîner sur le front de mer, face à la magnifique plage invitant aux bains de soleil et baignades.

Flânez dans Bordeaux, à moins d’une heure…

A 60 km à peine du Château Mader, Bordeaux, capitale mondiale du vin, est une destination incontournable : découvrez sa magnifique architecture 18ème siécle en flânant dans le Triangle d’Or, Place de la Bourse et le long des quais du Port de la Lune, inscrit au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO. Admirez la cathédrale Saint André et profitez d’une vue panoramique de Bordeaux depuis la Tour Pey Berland. Faites du shopping dans la rue Sainte Catherine, la plus longue rue commerçante piétonne d’Europe! Visitez la Cité du Vin, le CAPC (pour les amateurs d’art contemporain) au sein du cossu quartier des Chartrons, promenez-vous dans le marché des Capucins, vivant et animé, chinez chez les antiquaires de l’espace Saint-Michel…

Pour son histoire, ses activités, sa culture, Bordeaux a été élue « Meilleure destination européenne 2015 ».

Parcourez les vignobles et Saint-Emilion

Consacrez une journée à la visite des vignobles entourant Bordeaux avec de prestigieux châteaux premiers crus, comme Haut Brion (Pessac), Yquem (Sauternes), Margaux, à moins de 80 KM ; découvrez les coteaux viticoles de Saint-Emilion, inscrits au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, et tombez sous le charme de cette petite cité médiévale, où il fait bon faire une pause en terrasse après la découverte de l’impressionnante église souterraine et une promenade dans les ruelles escarpées.
Sur demande, nous organiserons votre excursion « sur- mesure » en limousine avec chauffeur.

Pays Basque et Espagne, à deux heures…

Les rues animées de Saint-Jean de Luz et les plages de Biarritz ne sont qu’à deux heures de route. Dépaysement garanti en découvrant les maisons blanches aux volets rouges ou verts caractéristiques du pays basque. Franchissez la frontière et empruntez la route de la Corniche qui surplombe l’Océan Atlantique, arrêtez-vous pour caresser les pottoks (petits chevaux sauvages) et admirez les sublimes paysages. Découvrez l’élégante San Sebastian, sa baie réputée (la concha), puis dégustez des tapas dans le dédale de la vieille ville, avant de revenir au Château Mader après une journée bien remplie.

Gastronomie locale

Huîtres du Bassin, poissons et fruits de mer en direct de la criée d’Arcachon, bœuf de Bazas, asperges, canards et foie gras des Landes voisines, et bien sûr, vins de Bordeaux : la région abonde en produits d’excellence !

Découvrez l’environnement exceptionnel du Château Mader

95656bb60a6bacd6696b3c014a1834816666666666666 Back To Top